Interview with Fig

By: Abbie Martin (March 2012)

Q: What is your name? Registered name and story behind it, if any. Call name and nicknames.
A: My name is Figaro, but I go by Fig. My registered name is Akire Odyssey to Kalista, which perfectly describes my travels from FL, to GA and on to MN. I was returned to my breeder during the PWD Nationals in Georgia. While at Nationals I met Linda Hunt, who thought enough of me to bring me north to find me a new home. It was a long journey, riding with her PWDs in the back of a Honda Odyssey van, but we made it here safe and sound. That's how I became Akire Odyssey to Kalista, aka Fig (Found in Georgia).

Q: Describe your physical appearance.
A: I am black with a splash of white on my chest and neck. My hair has been described as Wurley (wavy / curly combo).

Q: Where were your born?
A: I was born in Englewood, FL on February 24, 2010 (Yep I'm a Pisces!)

Q: Who was your breeder?
A: My breeder is Ebba Patrick of Akire PWDs

Q: Tell us about your family, i.e., your humans and doggie housemates.
A: I live in Roseville with my Mom (Abbie) and sisters; Caitlin the human, Flora the Papillion and Opal the Pekingese.

Q: What do they do for a living?
A: Mom works at TCF Bank as an IT Systems Business Consultant and Caitlin works at a senior independent living complex, and hopes to move out on her own.

Q: What dog sports do they compete in?
A: It appears that none of my family members are active or in sports… but I'm working to change that. I have just started obedience level one, and Mom says once we get it together as a team she will be looking into other activities for us to learn. I do enjoy a good game of hide-and-seek with the cats.

Q: What made your family want to add you to their lives?
A: Mom lost her Stella (14 year old Schipperke) a few months before being introduced to me. She had been researching 3 specific breeds, and PWD was on her short list, so, when Krista Hunt mentioned that I was in St. Paul looking for a new home… everything just magically fell into place.

Q: What are your favorite activities?
A: Playing fetch, eating snow, getting my tummy rubbed, snuggling in Mom's lap.

Q: What is your best quality?
A: Being happy and loving… I also have a great smile.

Q: Which of your behaviors does your family complain about most?
A: There is not much to complain about… that's why my Mom just doesn't understand why I was returned. She says my original owner must not be too bright. I am working on my loose-leash manners and keeping all four-on-the-floor.

Q: What is your favorite food?
A: You name it… I like it.

Q: Anything else you would like to add!
A: Thanks to Linda and Krista for finding me my true forever home.